Welcome to the Slavic Department!

First established as the Department of Slavonic Languages in 1915 and redesigned as the Department of East European Languages in 1935, the Department of Slavic Languages embarked on its present trajectory in 1946, when a grant from the Rockefeller Foundation permitted the establishment of the Russian (now Harriman) Institute. Consequently, it was necessary for the Department to expand its language offerings. At present, the Department offers five Slavic languages— Bosnian-Croatian-Serbian, Czech, Polish, Russian, and Ukrainian.

On our website, you can find out more about our faculty, our students, and our undergraduate and graduate offerings in Russian, Ukrainian, Czech, Polish, and Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian languages, literatures, and cultures. Click here for a list of Fall 2021 courses conducted in English with no prerequisites, or check us out on Facebook.


The Department of Slavic Languages at Columbia University condemns Russia’s war against the sovereignty of Ukraine.  We express our solidarity with Ukraine, its democratically-elected government, and with people everywhere who strive for freedom and peace.  We honor Russian citizens who oppose this war.  We call on the academic community to stand firmly against Russia’s military attacks on the Ukrainian state and its civilians.  We express our sympathy and support for members of our community affected by this crisis.

Ukrainian Flag


Funded by the Office of the Executive Vice-President of the Arts & Sciences, the Heyman Center Fellowships provide four junior and four senior

Mark Andryczyk, head of the Ukrainian studies program at Columbia University's Harriman Institute, reflects on Ukraine's cultural resilience.

In a piece for a new website created by Masha Lipman and Marlen Laruelle, Mark Lipovetsky (Professor of Slavic Languages and Literatures) “looks in

Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events.

Selected Publications

Postmodern Crises: From Lolita to Pussy Riot

Postmodern Crises: From Lolita to Pussy Riot

Mark Lipovetsky
The Fine Feats of the Five Cockerels Gang

The Fine Feats of the Five Cockerels Gang

Aleksandar Boskovic

Teaching Nineteenth-Century Russian Literature. Essays in honor of Robert L. Belknap

Edited by Deborah Martinsen, Cathy Popkin, and Irina Reyfman
Beginner’s Ukrainian with Interactive Online Workbook

Beginner’s Ukrainian with Interactive Online Workbook

Yuri Shevchuk